Happy August • Day 16

1 good thing that happened today:

A lovely evening out with hubby and a friend, catching the new Inbetweeners film, followed by drinks.

3 things I’m thankful for:

1. Payday! Phew! My bank balance has taken quite some hammering this month, with all the holiday bookings. Holidays are, of course, the BEST reason to be skint, so I’m thankful for that, too.

2. Working through summer. You’d think it was a bitch working at an art school during the Summer, while almost everybody else is off sunning themselves somewhere. I’m often asked ‘don’t you get bored?’. Nope. I love it. I can catch up on all the stuff I was struggling to get done during term time, the pace is more relaxed (positively tranquil), I can read outside in the sun on my lunch break… The best thing of all though, is that I get the flexibility to take my holidays when I want them, rather than just in the Summer, when travel is expensive and Europe’s mostly stifling hot. May and September are way nicer and cheaper. Hurrah!

3. Impending Autumn. I may make enemies with this one. I know it’s only August and the unseasonable cold is threatening to have us turning our heating back on, but I can’t help feel just a bit excited about Autumn. I love Autumn, for many reasons. I love the smell and the sunsets and the leaves and the freshness in the air. There’s a fabulous drama to it all, isn’t there? And on a far more shallow note, I love the clothes. I love blazers, I love gloves, I love scarves…I could go on. I’ve had my September issue of Vogue for nigh on a month already, and every time I go hunting the sale rails for summer clothes to wear on holiday, I feel the lovely new collections calling me. Maybe it is a little too early for these temperatures, but I confess, I’m loving being reacquainted with my blazers.

Happy photo for the day:

There's a nip in the air and sky's got a distinctively autumnal look about it. Cue the blazers!

There’s a nip in the air and sky’s got a distinctively autumnal look about it. Cue the blazers!

 

Leave a Reply

