Happy August • Day 20

1 good thing that happened today:

We braved the rain to venture out for supplies and a coffee/cake stop and were rewarded with a lovely sunshine break, which always looks gorgeous in Bath on a wet day. It’s the smooth paving slabs. They get all reflecty. Yes that’s a word. Shush.

3 things I’m thankful for:

1. Being a good sleeper. Most people I know grew out of sleeping all day when they left university. Now, try as they might, they just can’t sleep past 9am. I am not one of those people. I have somehow retained my teenage ability to just keep on sleeping. I’m not saying that sleeping until 1pm is a valuable use of time, but if I really need to, I can. Mostly I’m just thankful for a proper lie in of a weekend. 9am is NOT a lie in, from where I’m sat. Or indeed laid.

2. I was there for the salsa farm parties. Back when hubby and I first started dancing, one of the teachers (now one of my best friends) used to have a huge party on his parents’ farm every August bank holiday. There was a marquee, great food, bouncy castle, live bands and a salsa DJ slot or two. Everybody invited brought a tent and a bottle. We all crashed in a spare field for the night, and headed back the next day.  It was a lot of work to put together, though. I can’t blame him for retiring his legendary farm party around eight years ago. I’m just so thankful we were there to enjoy them while they lasted.

3. A bloody good summer. Everybody’s moaning about the weather. I don’t get it. August hasn’t exactly been wall to wall sunshine, I’ll concede. Before that, though, we had a good two months of glorious summer. I haven’t once felt the need to emigrate (unlike previous years). I was swimming in rivers for chrissakes. You wouldn’t have caught me doing that a couple of years ago – blog or no blog. Why does everybody focus on the crappy weather? We still have September to come, too. September is quite frequently glorious. I have high hopes. Besides, I do like a rainy day curled up with a book. It’s nature’s permission to be lazy, don’t you think?

Happy photo for the day:

A lovely break in the weather makes for a fetching backdrop to a coffee

A lovely break in the weather makes for a lovely backdrop to a coffee

 

Leave a Reply

