Travel Light September: Max. Outfits / Min. Clothes

I’ve yet to choose my backpack, but I do know it’ll be as small as I can get away with. That means very little stuff. That means planning. I refuse to compromise on style. I’m going for maximum outfits from minimum items. I’m taking C’est Christine’s excellent advice to keep it black on the bottom. Black is smart and goes with everything. I’ve also taken the unprecedented decision (for me) to leave my jeans at home. Denim is heavy. I do not need heavy (this shall be my mantra this weekend, when my resolve weakens and I consider packing jeans). That gives me;

  • black, cotton shorts (perfect length, not to long, not too short. they hit about mid-thigh).
  • black, linen trousers from GAP (they turn up nicely at the bottom, to give them a contemporary edge).
  • black pleated, jersey skirt (to inject a bit of femininity. It’s knee length, just a touch floaty and makes plain t-shirts look très chic).
GAP linen trousers with lovely turn-up-a-bility

GAP linen trousers with lovely turn-up-a-bility

Now I need tops. And I need them all to rock with each one of my bottoms. Not too tricky, having kept all the bottoms black. How few tops can I get away with? Is three t-shirts, a going-out top and a sweater enough? That’ll give me;

  • white t-shirt
  • blush pink t-shirt
  • my long sleeved black/white striped t-shirt, with thumb holes, from Cos. I love it. It’s falling to bits a bit, but I think I can still rock it. It looks a little bit like this GAP one (but with thinner, slightly less heavy stripes). It’s also super thin and light. Bonus.

GapFit Breathe yarn-dyed stripe tee - marine blue

  • white silk and lace cami for going out
  • grey sweater

I’d like to take a dress, too. I don’t think I’ve got any that fit the bill, though. I guess that saves me some weight…

I’m going to craftily multi-task my running kit as a bikini (black running shorts with orange piping + orange sports bra = bikini), and take my Nike Flyknits as one of my only two pairs of shoes, so I can sneak in the odd run, without increasing my load.

I love my flyknits. Proper running shoes that are smart enough to wear out and about.

I love my flyknits. Proper running shoes that are smart enough to wear out and about.

My black Xero Shoes are the only others I’m taking. You couldn’t get much lighter and easier to carry. I’m really wrestling with the concept of leaving my beloved black & white converse high tops behind, though. They go with EVERYTHING IN THE WORLD. They’re top of the list to go in, should I find myself able to carry a bit more.

My Xeros are all black, and laced slightly differently (cuter, imo), but you get the idea.

My Xeros are all black, and laced slightly differently (cuter, imo), but you get the idea.

Oh, and undies. I’m only taking a week’s worth of undies and socks (for a fortnight). I’m happy to do the odd hand-wash-in-a-sink, to keep my load light.

Finally, one of my big shopping victories for this trip was my Parka-in-a-pocket from Primark. At the princely sum of nine quid, it’s not going to cut it in a torrential downpour. It does the job nicely on the odd shower, though and looks rather cute whilst it does so. And IT FITS IN A POCKET. This makes me so happy.

I bought this one and a black one. I'm having a real job deciding which comes with me.

I bought this one and a black one. I’m having a real job deciding which comes with me.

So I think that’s my clothes sorted. Next up – toiletries. That’s a whole other post. Or more.

5 thoughts on “Travel Light September: Max. Outfits / Min. Clothes

  1. Pingback: Cracking Views / Leaky Shampoos | My 30 Days Year

  2. I’ve only ever tried the 4mm as the 6mm were out of stock when I bought my first pair and I was too impatient to wait. They take a bit of getting used to, so factor in a few short wears in them before you try yomping around a city all day or any hiking. You’ll love them if you take a bit of time over getting used to them.

Leave a Reply

