Coming soon; Write a novel November

This has been on my schedule since I started this whole blogging endeavour. I’m going to attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in a month with the NaNoWriMo challenge. Yep, you heard right. 50,000 words. Them’s a LOT of words to bang out in a month. Even if I just wrote 50,000 words of utter gibberish, I’d struggle with that deadline. Yet, somehow I have to craft those words into something readable too? Hah! Well, I certainly won’t manage it if I don’t at least try, will I? So, I’ve rather surprised myself by coming up with an acceptable plot, and am currently developing that and my characters, ready to start writing like a demon on 1 November.

If I do meet this unlikely target, I’ll be rewarded by having my book printed, via one of the programme’s sponsorship deals. Imagine that! A novel by ME on my bookcase at home!

3 thoughts on “Coming soon; Write a novel November

  1. Pingback: knitting is slow | My 30 Days Year

  2. Got your message regarding your book. I don’t know how much help I can be as there is little I remember about the actual course content. Let me see if the professor who brought us or the other students would be willing to contribute! When are you looking to write this?

    • Hi! Thanks so much for getting in touch. Apologies for the delayed response – I’m buried in trying to bang out as many words as possible at the moment.

      I don’t need course content so much, as your memories of the area, and any smaller villages you visited. What amenities did they have? What were shops and provisions like? Did they have internet connections?

      Also, if you have any anecdotes or info on the earthquake and tsunami, and the aid response to them, that would be really useful. Eg. how long did it take for the Red Cross to appear with tents etc for the displaced? What did they do while they were waiting? Any little stories you were told about the incident could be woven into my story to add texture and make it feel more real.

      Huge thanks in advance for anything you can do x

Leave a Reply

