Big scary word count goal

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

Well, I’ve started. That’s the first obstacle dealt with at least.

I’m trying very hard not to meditate on just how many words I have to churn out by the end of the month. I think I’d just crawl into bed and eat chocolate if I thought about that too much. Did I mention it’s 50,000 words I need to have written by the end of the month? Terrifying, isn’t it? So far I have 1649 words. Still a few to go, then…

I’m fairly alarmed by other people’s word counts, having poked around the NaNoWriMo forums yesterday. How in god’s name did they get that far already? Do these people have jobs? Ah, well. However far I get, it’ll be further than I’d have got without trying. My plan is just to plug away, write what I can, when I can, and use any spare brain cells to think about my plot, characters and settings.

I also found this handy little guide to producing a first draft in a month, on the Guardian website. I’m going to use this to organise myself, and structure things a bit, since I’ve never attempted to write anything as complex as a novel before. It’s much less focussed on word count, so it’s a supplement rather than a complete diet, but very helpful nonetheless.

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Big scary word count goal

    • I’ve already got a lot of catching up to do. I’m only averaging about 500 words a day. How are you managing with fitting it in? Thanks so much for the buddy offer. I don’t have any yet, so will absolutely add you! 😀

      • I’ll probably end up with most of my writing on the weekends, but I try to write at least a little bit everyday – even if it’s only for ten minutes or so. I also carry a notebook with me at work so can jot down any ideas when it’s not “writing time.”

      • That’s pretty much my plan, too. As long as I actually do write at the weekend, it could still all come together… *crosses all available limbs and digits*

Leave a Reply

